Introduction

Introduction

I’ve always been interested in technology and computers. When I was a kid, I spent hours playing games on my computer, PS and learning how to use the mouse and keyboard. As I got older, my interest grew stronger and stronger until one day it hit me: I wanted to become an engineer who worked with computers!

But I decided that civil engineering would be a good choice because it allowed me to work with both people and machines — and since then I’ve been working hard at my studies so that someday soon I might get paid for doing what I love most: creating new things with technology!

My Background in Civil Engineering

I have a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from the Sant Gadge Baba Amravati University (SGBAU). I also have several years of experience working as a civil engineer in both the private and public sectors.

I worked on many different types of projects during my time as an engineer:

  • Building bridges and roads.
  • Designing water treatment plants and wastewater systems.
  • Developing storm-water drainage systems for new developments (including detention ponds).
  • I learned how to use AutoCAD software for designing structures like buildings or bridges, which was very helpful when I switched careers because it gave me some basic programming skills that could be applied to other areas like web development or mobile applications development!

My Transition to Software Engineering

I’ll share with you the steps I took and the resources I used, as well as some of the challenges that came along with making this transition.

My Experience Learning to Code

I learned to code by building projects. I started with learning JAVA, which is not a great language for beginners from my point of view because it isn’t easy to read and write, but has a large community of developers and there are lots of resources available online.

I then moved on to learning JavaScript, which is the most popular programming language in the world today (by far). It’s also used by many frontend frameworks like React Native and VueJS so if you want to build mobile apps or web apps then this will be important for you too!

In my journey as an engineer, I’ve worked on many different types of projects including:

  • Building an app that helps people find their way around cities using GPS coordinates;
  • Working on data analytics tools for financial institutions;
  • Creating systems that monitor traffic patterns across multiple cities simultaneously;

This article is published w/Scattr